

PLANNING COMMITTEE

MEMBERSHIP, MEETINGS AND TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 1. Membership of the Planning Committee
- 1.1 The committee consists of seven councillors, appointed at the Town Council Annual Meeting
- 1.2 The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council are also members of the Committee
- 1.3 Vacancies on the Committee arising will be filled by nomination at a Town Council meeting
- 2. Meetings of the Planning Committee
- 2.1 At its first meeting after the Annual Town Meeting the Committee will appoint a Chairperson who shall hold office until the next Annual Town Meeting
- 2.2 The Committee will meet on the first Thursday of every month at The Beeches Community Centre. Notice of the meetings and agendas will be sent to all members of the Committee and all other councillors one week before a meeting. Public notice of meetings and agendas will be displayed one week before a meeting.
- 2.3 Committee meetings will start at 18.30 hours unless previously agreed for any meeting by the Chairperson in consultation with the clerk to the Council.
- 2.4 If necessary, to meet planning application response deadlines, the Committee will also hold extra ordinary meetings ad hoc. The only business to be dealt with at this extra meeting will be to consider planning applications received. This meeting will normally start at 18.30 hours.
- 2.5 Meetings of the Committee are public meetings. However, the Chairperson, in consultation with the clerk, may deem some items on the agenda to be confidential. In these cases, the public will be temporarily excluded from the meeting at the appropriate point on the agenda.
- 2.6 The quorum of the Committee shall be three members.
- 2.7 At the start of a meeting or immediately before an agenda item, members of the committee must declare any personal or prejudicial interest in an item. If a personal interest is declared, the member must disclose to the meeting the nature of the interest and withdraw from the meeting room.
- 2.8 The rules of debate specified in the Council's Standing Orders shall apply to Committee meetings where they are appropriate.
- 2.9 Should it be necessary to have a vote in order to pass a resolution on any item, the vote shall be by show of hands. The Chairman will have a second or casting vote.



- 2.10 The clerk to the Council will service the Committee preparing agendas and agenda items, attending meetings, take minutes and communicate with Bassetlaw District Council on planning matters.
- 2.11 Any member of the council not appointed to the Planning Committee may attend meetings.
- 3. Terms of Reference of the Planning Committee
- 3.1 The role of the Planning Committee is to:
 - Assistant Bassetlaw District Council in carrying out its planning role by providing a Tuxford viewpoint on planning applications received, promptly and within the timescales allowed for comment
 - Note planning decisions made by Bassetlaw District Council
 - Consider any other planning-related matters and make recommendations to the Council, these include but are not limited to Land, Assets, Leases, Town Plan and Neighbourhood Plan.
- 3.2 Details of planning applications received will be circulated to all members of the Council so that the applications can be viewed, and comments made by any member.
- 3.3 The Committee has delegated powers from the Council to consider planning applications. After consideration has been given to an application, the Committee will either make comments to Bassetlaw District Council or will make a recommendation to the Council. The criterion that will decide which approach the Committee adopts to any given application will be perceived effect on the community of that application, considering the following factors:
 - The scale of the proposed development
 - The style of building, extension, or conversion
 - The proposed use of a building, extension, or conversion
 - The sensitivity of the proposal to its surroundings

Where any or all of these aspects of an application are considered by the Committee to have an adverse effect on the community, the Committee will make a recommendation to the Council on the comments to be made to Bassetlaw District Council (and extension to reply to deadlines will be sought from Bassetlaw District Council if necessary). Where there is not considered to be an adverse effect, the Committee will decide the comments to make to Bassetlaw District Council under its delegated powers.

- 3.4 All decisions made by the Planning Committee under delegated powers will be reported to the Council for information.
- 3.5 Level of Authority from Full Council: Delegated



3.6 The Committee currently have 7 members:

- Cllr Elaine Atkin
- Cllr Georgina Frost
- Cllr Joan Moorhouse
- Cllr Keith Rutherford
- Cllr Robin Walker
- ONE Vacancy
- ONE Vacancy

REVIEWED 21 May 2024 – revised 01.08.2024